Image of the state of Mississippi with Coahoma County darkened in. Image of the words, Coahoma County Sheriff's Office Image of a Coahoma County Sheriff's badge
Home Press Releases Sex Offenders Most Wanted Contact Us
services menu
Civil Process
Crime Tips & Prevention
Emergency Management Agency
Hot Cases
Information & Alerts
School Resource Officer
Crime Tip HOTline 800-222-8477 or Submit Via Email
(662) 624-3085
(24 hours)
Email Map

P.O. Box 1182
1 Justice Drive
Clarksdale, MS 38614

Admin Office Hours:
M-F 8:00am - 5:00pm



The original Coahoma County Court House was built in Clarksdale in 1892. During this time Coahoma County had two districts with county seats and court houses in Clarksdale and Friars Point. The original courthouse was demolished and the present-day courthouse built on the same site in 1954. The courthouse was then remodeled, and additions added in 1999. The present day court house serves the citizens of Coahoma County with three court rooms and office space for the county government.


Circuit Court of Coahoma County


 Circuit Courtroom                                

 Coahoma County

   Court House



The Circuit Court of Coahoma County is part of the Mississippi’s Eleventh Circuit Court District. The Eleventh Circuit Court District encompasses the counties of Bolivar, Coahoma, Quitman and Tunica. The Circuit Court Judges are elected, and preside over all four counties at different times.  The Circuit Court has jurisdiction over all felony criminal cases and some civil cases. For questions concerning the Circuit Court of Coahoma County, call the Circuit Clerk’s Office.


Circuit Clerk:

Demetria Jackson – (662) 624-3014


Circuit Court Judges:

Hon. Albert B. Smith III

Hon. Charles E. Webster

Hon. Linda F. Coleman


District Attorney’s Office

The District Attorney is responsible for the prosecution of all felony cases in the Eleventh Circuit Court District. The District Attorney is an elected official. The main office of the District Attorney is located in Cleveland, MS. Assistant District Attorneys are assigned to each county.


District Attorney:

Brenda F. Mitchell – (662) 843-8000

Coahoma County Office – (662) 627-9877


Chancery Court of Coahoma County


The Chancery Court of Coahoma County is part of the Mississippi’s Seventh Chancery Court District. The Seventh Chancery Court District encompasses the counties of Bolivar, Coahoma, Leflore, Quitman, Tallahatchie, and Tunica. The Chancery Court Judges are elected and can preside over all six counties. The Mississippi Chancery Courts have jurisdiction over disputes in matters involving equity; domestic matters including adoptions, custody disputes and divorces; guardianships; sanity hearings; wills; and challenges to constitutionality of state laws. Land records are filed in Chancery Court. For questions concerning the Circuit Court of Coahoma County, call the Chancery Clerk’s Office.


Chancery Court Clerk:

Sherita Wilson – (662) 624-3000


Chancery Court Judges:

Hon. Catherine Farris-Carter

Hon. W. M. Sanders

Hon. Willie J. Perkins Sr.




County Court – Youth Court of Coahoma County


The County Court of Coahoma County has limited jurisdiction over certain types of civil and criminal cases. County Courts share jurisdiction with Justice Courts for civil and criminal cases within Justice Court jurisdiction, including some misdemeanors. In Coahoma County the County Court Judge is also the Youth Court Judge. County Courts can handle most general civil claims for less than $200,000. The County Court Judge is elected by the citizens of Coahoma County. For questions concerning the County Court and Youth Court of Coahoma County, call the Court Administrator’s Office.


County Court– Youth Court Administrator:

Rhodes Shaffett – (662) 624-3036


County Court – Youth Court Judge:

Hon. Kent C. Haney


County Attorney :

John Sherman


Justice Court of Coahoma County


The Justice Court of Coahoma County has limited jurisdiction over certain types of civil and criminal cases. Criminal cases heard by Justice Courts include criminal offenses punishable by a fine or time in county jail of less than one year. Civil cases heard by Justice Courts include most general civil claims for less than $2,500. Justice Courts share civil jurisdiction with County Courts. There are two Justice Court Judges elected by the citizens of CoahomaCounty. For questions concerning the Justice Court of Coahoma County, call the Justice Court Clerk’s Office.


Justice Court Clerk:

Darlene Lake – (662) 624-3060


Justice Court Judges of CoahomaCounty:

Hon. Burkes Rogers

Hon. Derrick Hopson



Floyd Williams

Johnny Rybolt






Original Courthouse
Clarksdale MS
     Coahoma County Sheriff's Office | © 2024
     Coahoma County, Mississippi